Word & Song by Anthony Esolen
Poem of the Week
Jordan (I)
0:00
-6:14

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Word & Song by Anthony Esolen

Jordan (I)

George Herbert, 1639

“I, too, dislike it,” said Marianne Moore at the beginning of her own poem about poetry, and I’m afraid that I’d say much the same thing about most of the work that she and her modernist colleagues produced.  I don’t mean to sound harsh, but first they gave up singing for saying, and then their successors often gave up saying for grunting, or for a sort…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Word & Song by Anthony Esolen to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Word & Song by Anthony Esolen
Poem of the Week
Stop by on Wednesdays to listen to Tony read the poem of the week. Sometimes you have to hear it to believe it!